Christmas / Family / Love / Photography

A Christmas Portrait

I was asked by my cousin to take their Christmas portrait for this year.  I was certainly honored to do so.  My cousin has one of the cutest daughters, however, any photo shoot that involves kid(s) is always a challenge.  I find that it’s easier to capture candid moments with them instead of doing a formal picture.  For my cousin, we attempted the more formal, sit down portrait.  Their daughter was cooperative for the most part which helped a great deal.  We taught her how to look straight at the lens by hanging one of my aunt’s ornaments around the lens.

When taking pictures with kids, patience is the ultimate key.  I refused for them to end up in the Awkward Family Photos website.  So, after so many takes, sitting, standing, bending, leaning, kissing, turning, looking here, looking there, the last take ended up being THE one.

 

Image

